Strychnin Gallery

The official blog for everything relating to the former Strychnin Crew & Urban Nation

Greg Haberny in Berlin

As you may know, the US artist Greg Haberny will be showing a huge collection of his work and setting up an installation at Strychnin gallery next friday (8th April) as part of the ‘Appetite for Destruction’ show.

Hailing from New York City, Greg has been making a big name for himself in the art world selling his works in prestigious auction houses such as Phillips de Pury and Sotheby’s as well as numerous solo shows and headlining at the well known Art Basel and Armory shows (NYC).

Gregs artwork is ‘in your face’ with a political core, at the same time as being familiar and inviting for the common viewer. Everybody can relate to certain aspects of his vast range of works.

Greg has been in Berlin working like crazy for the last week creating an assortment of oddities which will be part of his installation at Strychnin. The gallery will be converted once again into an exciting new world with hundreds of pieces to explore.

As I say each month “this will be a show not to miss” but trust me on this one. With Greg Harbeny in the front space and Elmer Presslee in the Vault, this show promises to be a sensory overload like no other.
Both artists will be at the show to talk with, but until then you may see Greg around town leaving his mark ;)
More to come soon……..
“DONKEY PARTY GAME”

SHOWN AT FOUNTAIN IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE ARMORY SHOW
NYC 2009

Artist Statement

I come from a family of artists.  My grandmother, an impressionist painter and my father, a folk artist, influenced me not only with their technique, but also with their work ethic.  I was taught at an early age that vigilance, determination and fearlessness are essential for an artist.

As a child, I was often ill and forced to observe life though my bedroom window.  In my isolation I found that drawing cultivated a feeling of participation and consequently filled sketchbook after sketchbook with images fueled by my avid interest in cartoons and comic books.  When I was fifteen years old I saw the work of Larry Clark and at that moment realized art is more than bucolic images and portraiture hanging on museum walls; it is a vehicle for expression and discovery.

After High School my interests shifted to the moving image and I began formal studies where I focused on film and photography. It was during this time that I produced a number of screenplays, directed several short films and became involved in film acting. Working in New York City, I developed a bond with many street writers, conceptual artists, and filmmakers working in commercials, on screen productions, and television.  These experiences fed my desire to create and most importantly, to realize my potential as an artist.

My influences are the more hard-hitting filmmakers of the 60’s and 70’s such as Martin Scorsese, Jean-Luc Godard, Sam Peckinpah, Roman Polanski and the experimental films of Kenneth Anger. Some of the artists who have inspired me are Robert Rauschenberg, Cy Twombly, Peter Saul, Paul McCarthy, Carroll Dunham, Marcel Duchamp, many of the artists from the Cobra Movement and the New York Abstract Expressionists.

Greg Haberny Website: http://www.suckerchump.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

