Strychnin Gallery

The official blog for everything relating to the former Strychnin Crew & Urban Nation

RED BULL SOAPBOX DERBY

Let me start by saying – what a day. I landed in LA and although tired my friend Shaney Jo invited me out to go witness the event of the year: The RED BULL SOAPBOX DERBY

Being that I curate the NYC space – I simply had to go to support.

Everyone gets together and builds a hand made Soapbox “Seifenkiste” and has to than race down a track through downtown LA while everyone can vote with their cell phones who’s car was the most creative and who’s fall the hardest.

You wouldn’t believe how they f—– fell! Broken bones and bust skulls!! But everyone is smiling, people from skid row side by side with the LA vip crowd and ton of skater kids and rock’n’rollers having a light beer in the sun.

I get into the press pit with my pass and am right in the middle of the action.

We have the “Green Soldiers” “The Lutcha Libres” “The Nas- CAR” (he build this for 5000 USD!) And my favorites “The Hammerhead” crew.

I am going home through the fashion district tempted to buy myself a proper “Quinceanera” dress – that’s the coming out party of a 15 year old Latino girl – like a debutant ball or a sweet 16 party. But my friends won’t let me 🙂 – Thanks Guys !!

Than I find a very rare Sheppard Fairey on the wall of a building in the Arts District. How cool will it be to have him at BLOOOM – can’t wait.

So I am off to Mary Karnowski’s opening of Chris Anthony + Kent Williams tonight.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
